top of page

Season 2019 start & goals

This training season is quickly going to become the best one I’ve ever had. Last week I set my new PB at 10 km distance. For the first time I made a plan "how to run fast, but not to be too hasty at first kilometres" and I think i did well. I hadn’t trained especially for this race. My plan was to rest before the race by running only 90 km per week. I have started to train in October last year, so I did not expect to run for my personal best . But yeah, on the other hand I had never run flat 10 km before. Until that day, my best time for the 10km race was from the race "Běh českou kanadou". The surface is asphalt which is known as a pretty speedy track but the big hill at the end says otherwise.

Since October, I’ve started to write my training diary, which is giving me some seasonal motivation picture & goals. For this season the goal is easy, because I just want to train more (it would be great to be able to train the whole year). Further, I would like to find my athletics limits (5/10/21 km we will see...). Of course I still prefer orienteering to athletics.

These are some races I don’t wanna miss this year:

10Mila (hope to run with Nykoping guys),

Jukola,

Tromso skyrace,

Czech O - relay with PGP,

Czech U22 10 km championship,

Dolomyth Vertical.

This year will be my first in the senior category. I am looking forward to some nice relay experience :) Because relay is my favourite orienteering discipline. It’s not just about you, but also about teamwork with your colleagues against other teams with the same or different routes.

I really hope that I will have no long - term injuries. In my point of view, running should be about joy of the run, being happy, rather than about the result, which is suits more for your job. It is enough to just find your running playground, friends and joy of running in the nature! :)

Now I will get back to Thursday 3/1/2019 when I ran "Hostivařský lampionový běh" of 10 km distance. Just one day after this race I had an indoor athletic training (usually you take a rest day or sth easy). Thanks to good stretching (I wasn´t used to that , but it helps a lot) it was not so bad after, but it was...

First km of the race was really slow for me (4min/km), but that was a plan. So yeah OK, you can ran 3min/km, I dont care. That is why I was somewhere around 10th place after 1st lap (1lap = 2,5km). It was pretty good, I didn´t feel any pain as usually. But it was a little bit boring for me, not to be in the leading group. That is where "catch me if you can" began. After 2nd lap I push hard and get to 2nd place. What a nice feeling to know, that that day it wasnt me who went "fire start" and then "no way to finish”. Last 5 km I ran alone at maximum pace and tried to get to the leader. Unfortunately, it was snowy that day and I had a terrible fall which made me ran few meters slowly. I was very satisfied finishing just 20s after leader and I hope, that I can make a better show in the future.

http://www.tttparta.cz/races/novorocni-lampionovy-beh-2019/

Wish you all the best into the new season!

See you at the some of the race days :))


bottom of page